Home Page

St John's CatholicPrimary School

At St John’s we grow and learn in the footsteps of Jesus.


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum has seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in the early years. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. These areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:


*Communication and Language;

*Physical Development;

*Personal, Social and Emotional Development.


There are also four specific areas, through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:


*Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World, and Expressive Arts and Design.


Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult led and child initiated activity. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems, and relate to others. Each child's level of development is assessed against the early learning goals indicating whether children are meeting expected levels of development or if they are exceeding expected levels of development or not yet reaching expected levels (emerging). This is ‘The Early Years Foundation Profile’ which will be completed for each child at the end of F2. The profile provides a well-rounded picture of a child’s knowledge, understanding and abilities, their progress against expected levels and their readiness for Year 1.